Making and Sharing Notes and Highlights in Bookshelf Online

Posted

You can make notes and highlights inside your eTextbook with Bookshelf Online.  Notes and highlights made in Bookshelf Online will sync across to your other computers and mobile devices running Bookshelf. You can also share your notes and highlights and subscribe to your friends and teachers notes and highlights as well. 

Making Notes and Highlights

Making Highlights

To make a highlight click and drag to select the text that you would like to highlight (in the same way as if you were going to copy and paste).  After selecting text, a highlight panel will appear on the screen with highlighting options.

 

Choose which highlighter you would like to use for your highlight by clicking on the appropriate colored dot. After choosing the highlighter to make your highlight with, click on Add Highlight

To change the color of a highlight, click on a highlight to bring up the highlight panel.  Click on the color you wish to make the highlight.  

Similarly, to delete a highlight; click on a highlight and click on Delete Highlight in the highlight panel. 

Screenshot_2017-06-23_13.49.48.png

Making Notes

To make a highlight with a note, click and drag to select the text that you would like to highlight (in the same way as if you were going to copy and paste).  After selecting text, a highlight panel will appear on the screen with highlighting options.  Choose which highlighter you would like to use for your highlight and note by clicking on the appropriate colored dot. After choosing the highlighter to make your highlight and note, click on Add Note, add your note and save it.   

To add a note to a highlight, click on a highlight to bring up the highlight panel.  Click on the Add Note button, add your note, and save it.  

Highlights with Notes will have a square note icon in the margin of the book next to the highlight. 

Copying Text

To copy text from a textbook to use in another application, click and drag to select the text that you would like to copy and in the highlight panel, click the Copy button.  Your highlighted text gets copied to your clipboard for use in other applications. 

 

Sharing Notes and Highlights

You can share the Notes and Highlights you make with your friends and classmates. You can also subscribe to your friends and classmates Notes and Highlights.  To share or subscribe to another user's Notes and Highlights in a specific book, you both must have the same book in your library. 

Shared notes and highlights will appear in your Notebook as underlined text.  

You can hide shared notes and highlights by opening your Notebook by clicking on the Notebook Button notebook.png in the bottom left side of the book window, clicking on Filter, and then clicking on the Me button.  

Sharing Highlighters

In your Library, click on Tools, and then click on Highlighters.  If you are in a book, click on the main menu button and then click on Highlighters.

In the Highlighter window, you can set the sharing preference for each of your highlighters:

  • Private: Only you can see this highlighter 
  • Friends Only:  Only subscribed users in your Friends List can see these notes and highlights.
  • Public:  All subscribed users can see these notes and highlights.
 
Note: People in your Friends list will see both your Friends Only and Public highlighters. 

After setting a sharing preference, click Save to confirm the change.  

Screenshot_2017-06-23_14.35.11.png

 

Adding friends to your Friends List

In your Library, click on Tools, and then click on Sharing.  If you are in a book, click on the main menu button and then click on Sharing.

Once in the Sharing Window, click on Friends on the top of the window to toggle to your Friends List.  To add a friend to your Friend's list; click Add Friend, Enter their email address, first and last name, and then click the Save button. Their name will then appear in your Friends List.  

To remove a user from Friends List, click on the Delete button next to their name.  

Friends.png

 

Subscribing to other's Notes and Highlights

In your Library, click on Tools, and then click on Sharing.  If you are in a book, click on the main menu button and then click on Sharing.

Once in the Sharing Window, click on Add Subscription.  Enter the email address of the user you are subscribing to their notes and highlights and click the save button. Their name will appear in your Subscriptions list.  

To remove a user from Subscriptions list, click on the Delete button next to their name.  

Subscriptions.png

 

 

people found this useful.
Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful