Making and Sharing Notes and Highlights

Making Notes and Highlights

You can make notes and highlights inside your eTextbook with Bookshelf.  When signed into the same Bookshelf account Notes and Highlights made in Bookshelf will sync across any device logged into that account. You can also share your Notes and Highlights and follow your friends and teacher's Notes and Highlights.  

Making Highlights

Select the desired text, and click the color highlighter you wish to use. To delete, click or tap on the Highlight to be removed and select the same highlighter (it will now have an X on it).

 Highlight.png  Highlight-delete.png

For Bookshelf Mobile to add a highlight, you will select the color dot that presents. If it is not the highlighter, you wish to use, tap the created highlight, tap the color dots, and select the new color you want to associate with this highlight. To delete you will touch a highlight and select "Delete."

Making Notes

Notes must be associated with a highlight. To create a Note, select the text, and start typing directly into the Add Note field. It will autosave your note as you type! View your note by clicking on the highlight.

Underlined highlights are shared highlights, view shared notes by hovering over the underlined text.

For Bookshelf Mobile to add a Note select the text you want to add a Note to or tap a highlight and select "Add Note." Notes do not autosave as you type. To view your note tap the highlight and select "View Note."

Making and Editing Highlighters

Add a Highlighter

To add a new highlighter, from your library click Tools, then click Highlighters (Bookshelf Online); or click the Account menu, then click Manage Highlighters (Bookshelf Desktop).

Select Add New Highlighter and decide on the color, name, and if you would like this to be public (shared) or private.

Highlighter-create.png

Edit a Highlighter

To add a new highlighter, from your library click Tools, then click Highlighters (Bookshelf Online); or click the Account menu, then click Manage Highlighters (Bookshelf Desktop). Once the Highlighters modal window appears, click on the highlighter you wish to edit.

You can edit the highlighter name, change its color, and adjust the highlights collaboration status (Private or Public).  Click the Save button to save your changes. 

Highlighter-change.png

Remove a Highlighter

To remove a highlighter, from your library click Tools, then click Highlighters (Bookshelf Online); or click the Account menu, then click Manage Highlighters (Bookshelf Desktop). Once the Highlighters modal window appears, click "Remove" next to the highlighter you wish to remove. Please note this is permanent and we are unable to restore highlighters.

Highlighter-delete.png

 

Bookshelf Mobile does not support adding or editing highlighters at this time. Please use Bookshelf Online or Bookshelf Desktop. 

Sharing Notes and Highlights

You can share your Notes and Highlights with your friends and classmates. You can also follow your friends and classmates to view their Notes and Highlights.  To share or see another user's Notes and Highlights in a specific book, you both must have the same book in your library. 

Shared notes and highlights will appear in your Notebook as underlined text.  

You can hide shared notes and highlights in your Notebook. Open your Notebook (located in the upper left side of the book's view window) click on this icon,Notebook_icon.png then click the Filter Icon,Filter_Icon.png and then click Me.  

To Follow Someone

Accessed only from Bookshelf Online is the feature of following, although once you follow you will be able to view across all Bookshelf Applications. In your Library, click Tools and select Sharing from the drop-down menu. Enter the email address of the person you wish to follow under I'm Following. If you no longer want to see their notes and highlights click Unfollow.

ImFollowing.png

To Manage Your Followers

Managing your followers can only be done in Bookshelf Online. In your Library, click Tools and select Sharing from the drop-down menu and go to My Followers

 

MyFollowers.png 

To send someone a custom link that will allow them to follow you click the Copy button. Please note, if your Bookshelf email address changes you will need to give them a new link if they have not yet subscribed.

You can Block or Unblock followers at any time by clicking the appropriate button next to their name. Blocked users, even if you are on their shared list, will not be able to see your notes and highlights.

What if my Followers cannot see my notes and highlights?

If someone says they are unable to view your notes and highlights check the following:

  • Are they listed on your account as a follower?
  • Are they blocked?
  • Do they have the exact same book ISBN? (Find this by clicking the book's information button Captura_de_pantalla_2019-04-26_a_la_s__01.56.28.png in your Library) 

 

What if a link I provided someone to share my highlights does not work?

Typically this means your Bookshelf account email address has changed. Go back under My Followers and copy a new link for them.

 

6 out of 28 found this helpful